Leave your things in the street and run wild

Sometimes I just want to follow Robert Pollard’s advice … just drop everything and start running. Somewhere. Anywhere. Damn any plans, damn reason or anything of the like. Just take off and see where it leads.

More and more I’ve come to realize this place isn’t where I need to be. At least in the capacity I’m serving now. If I were leading a slightly different life, I’d probably be a lot more optimistic about my prospects here in Western North Carolina. But now I feel like I function just for the sake of functioning since I have nothing better to do.

I’ve come to envy the people who have the freedom to leave it all behind at the drop of a hat and search for something better. Part of me wishes I could do that. If it was just some dumb job keeping me here, I would have said “fuck it” a long time ago and went on my merry way. See for myself if I wake up in a different time, in a different place, if I could wake up a different person.

(Yes, I’ve referenced “Fight Club” a lot with people lately. But that question is no less valid.)

Maybe it’s good that I haven’t, though. As someone smarter than I once said, there’s also a price you pay for “the chains that you refuse.”

That, and I’ve always been of the opinion that traveling all over the world means nothing if you haven’t had experiences that contribute to who you are as a person. I know way too many people who’ve paid ungodly amounts of money just to end up being dumb tourists. It’s like they’re making a resume out of their life and they go all these places just to have something to put on there. I’m not the kind of person who’s going to go broke just to end up shoving their head farther up their own ass, so to speak.

But I feel like I need an adventure and I need it soon. Something to get the adrenalin going again. I’ve got scars of both pleasure and pain, as Neil Peart once wrote, and I wouldn’t mind adding a few more to the tally before I die.

~ by J on March 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
