Don’t you wish that you could be here too?

Balsam was 50 degrees when I woke up for work this morning … 12 degrees cooler than in Sylva, a mere 10 minute drive away. Granted, most of that drive is a 1,000 foot descent. I didn’t have much time to enjoy it, but there’s so few things that are good about Monday mornings. Well, outside of the A.V. Club updating it’s weekly “Inventory” feature, at least.

Despite the jingoistic, “WOO HOO FIREWORKS!” and “USA #1” idiocy that comes with the holiday, the Fourth of July was well spent this year. Good friends and good conversation. And yes, we got to see fireworks. Though, on the downside, we got to see a lot of people who think the American flag is a good choice of attire.

(Side note: Lucy pointed out that a lot people wearing Confederate flag attire as well. That didn’t make much sense, seeing as the South was trying to secede from the union during the Civil War, in which that flag was one of many flown by Confederates. If they would have succeeded, the Fourth of July would have very little significance below the Mason-Dixon. I’ve said it before and I’ve said it again … I’m proud of much of my Southern heritage. There’s also a lot of it I’m a little ashamed of. But I don’t think of heritage or hatred when I see someone wear or fly the Confederate flag. I think, “Wow, they want to prove the fact they’re stupid …”)

The one-year anniversary was yesterday. Lucy and I didn’t do much, but we spent the whole day together. She made breakfast, I made dinner. Watched movies, played Rock Band. It was a nice way to commemorate a great year.

~ by J on July 7, 2008.

One Response to “Don’t you wish that you could be here too?”

  1. Wow, a YEAR! Congrats, buddy! 🙂 Tell the little lady hello for me.

    PS–Keep these blogs going…I am enjoying them!

Leave a Reply

 
